Learn more about BikingToronto and Singer Kwinter

City Hall wants to shut down Cycling Advisory Committee

It was rumoured to be happening, but now it’s official… the Rob Ford Regime wants to shut down the Cycling Advisory Committee .  The Cycling Committee is not the only one facing the axe… it is one of 21 committees (PDF) to be shut down… committees that are formed by experts in their chosen field to advise Council on matters, because Councillors do not have time to be experts in everything.

In case you think that this is to save money – the report states that “There are no financial implications resulting from this report. Support for advisory bodies and working committees is provided through existing resources in the City Clerk’s Office and relevant divisions.” (thanks to Ryan for pointing this out in the comments below) … so it’s NOT about saving money, it IS about preventing Torontonians from being involved.

For a Council that was supposed to be striving for accountability, transparency, and “respect for taxpayers”, it has gone out of their way over the past 4 months to close off city government from the people it’s meant to serve.

Councillor Adam Vaughan has sent out an “Action Alert” to alert people to this latest threat to democracy and let them know what they can do (this has since been picked up by the Bike Union as well):

Dear Cycling and Pedestrian advocates,

Over the years many of you have played an important role, advising City Council and City staff on advisory bodies.

Mayor Ford is moving to eliminate these groups and opportunities for resident input.

Two of the groups slated for elimination are the Toronto Pedestrian Committee and the Toronto Cycling Advisory Committee.

Sustaining and building a vibrant city is complex.  In every decision there are hundreds of needs, ideas and perspectives that need to be considered in order to get to creative, innovative, solutions that make our City great for everyone.

We need you and your neighbours at the table with us – governing the City’s many agencies, boards, committees and corporations, serving on advisory committees and bringing your voices to Standing Committees.

The latest proposal to keep people out of City Hall, by eliminating formal advisory roles for taxpayers is on the agenda for the next Executive Committee.

Please come to the meeting and share your views:

Date: Wednesday April 20, 2011
Time: starting at 9:30am
Location: Toronto City Hall, Second Floor, Committee Room 1
To make a deputation at Executive Committee, contact Frances Pritchard of the City Clerk’s office to register. She can be reached at 416-392-6627 or exc@toronto.ca.

The full report is available online here:
If you can’t make it to the meeting, you can still let the councillors on the Executive Committee know how important these advisory committees are to you.

Mayor Ford   416-397-3673  mayor_ford@toronto.ca
Councillor Holyday  416-392-4002  councillor_holyday@toronto.ca
Councillor Ainslie  416-392-4008  councillor_ainslie@toronto.ca
Councillor Berardinetti 416-392-0213  councillor_berardinetti@toronto.ca
Councillor Del Grande 416-392-1374  councillor_delgrande@toronto.ca
Councillor Kelly  416-392-4047  councillor_kelly@toronto.ca
Councillor Mammoliti  416-395-6401  councillor_mammoliti@toronto.ca
Councillor Milczyn  416-392-4040  councillor_milczyn@toronto.ca
Councillor Minnan-Wong 416-397-9256  councillor_minnan-wong@toronto.ca
Councillor Palacio  416-392-7011  councillor_palacio@toronto.ca
Councillor Robinson  416-395-6408  councillor_robinson@toronto.ca
Councillor Shiner  416-395-6413  councillor_shiner@toronto.ca
Councillor Thompson  416-397-9274  councillor_thompson@toronto.ca
Please share this information with your networks and community.

Best regards,

Adam Vaughan

 

PLEASE EMAIL your city councillor and ANY or ALL of the ones on the Executive Council listed above, and let them know that you want Torontonians to have a voice in how they city we love is run.



$20 gets you a shirt. All taxes and shipping included! (~$30 regularly).

Quantities limited. White colour with navy blue logo. Delivery by Two Wheels Green Delivery (downtown Toronto) and Canada Post.

Size (size chart)
Special delivery instructions?
Get an email in the future when there is another sale (or we give away free stuff!)

Giveaway and Sale Notify List

* indicates required

Sign up for the Biking Toronto Newsletter

Don't have time to check for blog posts here? Get new blog posts in your email! One email per day, max!






Popular Posts Today

  • NEWS: John Tory's proposal to cancel Eglinton Connects irresponsible and short-sighted
  • RETAIL: Toronto's getting it's very own Cargo Bike Brand!
  • BlogTO compiles the Best Used Bike Shops in Toronto
  • Hydro Corridor Multi-Use Trail Construction Update
  • Bikelane Map
  • NEWS: Separated Bike Lanes are coming to Eglinton!
  • OH YEAH: Win a Tern Bicycles Link D8 Folding Bike
  • Toronto's Cycling Apps



  • Popular Posts This Week

  • EVENT: Sat. April 19 - Red Bull "Race the Place" hits Ontario Place!
  • NEWS: Cyclist killed in collision with transport truck
  • EVENT: RedBull Race The Place ... Mystery
  • INFRASTRUCTURE: The top 5 bike trails in Toronto
  • Bikelane Map
  • NEWS: Cyclist killed in Mississauga
  • OH YEAH: For $3000, you can own one of the world's smallest cafés
  • PHOTO OF THE DAY: Cyclist in Toronto



  • Popular Posts This Month

  • EVENT: Sat. April 19 - Red Bull "Race the Place" hits Ontario Place!
  • Bikelane Map
  • EVENT: RedBull Race The Place ... Mystery
  • BlogTO compiles the Best Used Bike Shops in Toronto
  • NEWS: Separated Bike Lanes are coming to Eglinton!
  • Celebrate Spring I Bike T.O. Shirt Sale!
  • NEWS: Bixi gets new name, operator, prices
  • NEWS: Cyclist killed in collision with transport truck